Marking National Leadership Week

Leadership posters are hard to miss this week.
Leadership posters are hard to miss this week.

This week students in CCSC’s chapter of the National Honor Society are participating in National Student Leadership Week* through activities designed to call attention to different aspects of leadership. Most visibly, posters have popped up on classroom doors and in hallways with quotes about leadership from famous leaders.

In today’s Morning Meeting announcements, the NHS group recognized the following students for exceptional spirit and character: Andy Laverne (7th grade); Jadaa Bailey (8th grade); Shadra Matthew (9th grade); Peg Nonez (10th grade); Aakeilah Rogers (11th grade); Jessica Romero (12th grade).

On Tuesday NHS will recognize students from each grade for outstanding academic progress, and on Wednesday they will recognize students for demonstrating a commitment to service. All the honorees will receive NSLW Certificates of Appreciation on Friday.

In addition to these on-campus initiatives, the NHS students and faculty advisor Aleida Sanabria will take part in the Kendall Square Association’s annual neighborhood clean up on Thursday after school.

Our NHS members are: Janika Beatty ’13, Gaurav Chatterjee ’14, Chardé Hunt-Jeanty ’13, Hugh Merisier ’13, Masroque Musa ’14, Vivianne Nufio ’13, Tristan Pepin ’14, Elizabeth Puerta-Romero ’13, Sylvia Sanchez ’13, Netoya Strothers ’13, Mehret Tadesse ’14, and Tahawney Terrell ’14.






* Officially National Student Leadership Week was held April 14-20, but that fell during CCSC’s spring break. Proving that true leadership is timeless and flexible, our students chose a better time for their activities. Other public schools in Massachusetts and in many other states were on vacation that week, too, making us wonder why NHS doesn’t designate a different week!

2 thoughts on “Marking National Leadership Week”

  1. Congratulations to the following students who were recognized for service awards today: Tyree Haywood (7th grade); Matthew Kieser (8th grade); Christy Felix (9th grade); Arnav Chatterjee (10th grade),; Chrean Thompson (11th grade); Nina Cherilus (12th grade).

  2. Congratulations to the following students who were recognized for academic achievement on May 16: Jonathan Herrera (7th grade); Fraser McMahon (8th grade); Xiomara Kieser (9th grade); Ann Appolon (10th grade); Ruben Morales (11th grade); Amari Flaherty (12th grade).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *